Minutes of the September 16th, 2021 Diversity and Inclusivity Committee Meeting

The Diversity and Inclusivity Committee convened on September 16th, 2021

Committee Members Present: Kathi Swanson, Janessa Katzenberger, Jen Braun, Donnetta Foxx, Susan Neeley, Cory Neeley, Heidi Deininger and Barb Dorn

Guests present: Amiee Leavy, YWCA Consultant and Laurie Burgos, District Administrator.

The meeting was called to order by co-chair Janessa Katzenberger at 4:05 pm. Barb Dorn agreed to take minutes and review time. Kathi Swanson moved and Jen Braun seconded to approve the August 19th, 2021 minutes. Motion passed unanimously.

Mrs Burgos provided information on the basis of the Framework for the 2021-2022 School Based Priorities. Board Policies govern districts. Policies dictate practice. Therefore, Mrs Burgos looked at policy to determine who we are as a district. Policy 111 District Vision, Mission, Objectives And Goals along with Policy 111.1 Expectations of the Evansville Community School District describe who we are and what we expect for students and in our learning environments thus telling us what we need to focus on. Our district goals are currently written by our Continuous System Improvement Teams. The Framework takes the CSI Goals along with Policy 111 and 111.1 and focuses our work through an equity lens on three priority areas.

The 2021-2022 School Based Priorities through the lens of Equity (High Expectations, Whole Student, Cultural Responsiveness):

1- Professional Learning Community in Policy Collective Efficacy in Practice

2- School Culture & Climate in Policy Sense of Belonging & Student Voice in Practice

3- Extended Community in Policy Family Engagement in Practice

Committee members had many questions about how the work would be accomplished. Mrs Burgos stated that staff were unpacking the policies, focusing on the three priority areas and setting short term goals along with metrics at each school. Ideas for how the D & I Committee could support the work of the district and schools in these three priority areas were generated and will be collected on a shared document.

Susan Neeley moved and Heidi Deininger seconded to adjourn the meeting at 6PM

Submitted, October 18th, 2021 by Barb Dorn